The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The English language is still being used as an international tongue with its increasing extension around the world. I strongly agree with the opinion that the benefits from it outweigh any possible drawbacks as it improves understanding between people from different countries and raises career opportunities for people. The first reason why the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages is because it helps different nations to communicate with each other. It is known, that communication is always a challenge even for those who speak the same languages, however, if people speak in diverse languages understanding each other would become extremely harder due to disparities of meanings in translations, which can make understanding impossible. For example, there are some phrases in English, idioms, which we cannot understand just to translate the words. If we tell someone that he or she is barking at the wrong tree, it does not mean that this person is barking like a dog. Another reason for this phenomenon is that knowledge of English is crucial for getting to greener pastures in a career. There are many international companies with a great corporate culture, good work conditions, and possible promotions, which are amazingly attractive for professionals, and all of them use English as a working language. For example, such companies as Google, Facebook, and Amazon are incredibly popular among IT specialists; hence, to work there they study English. In conclusion, I totally agree that the advantages of the global spread of English outweigh its disadvantages, as it helps people to communicate and be successful in their careers.