Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles, even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of vehicles?

A country’s economic status is dependent on the development of different types of transportation in that nation. Although certain individuals are aware of the fact that the usage of cars and bikes is not good for nature, they still continue to do so. There are multiple reasons why it is unavoidable. However, several measures can be taken to reduce the use of these types of vehicles. The primary reason behind such saying is because the other modes of transportation are not as convenient as our own vehicle. To explain, most people use their own vehicles to travel to their workplace in the peak hours. Dependency on public transportation during these hours is not a preferred option because there can be chances of change in the frequency of the transport. Another key factor is many people believe that if they have a costlier model of vehicle, they feel their social status is high. People travel to nearby places to showcase their branded bikes or cars, even though such travel can be avoided. For instance, in Germany, reports have shown that people who buy costly vehicles to express their status are greater than those who buy for necessity. However, there are electric vehicles already available in the market which does not cause any environmental degradation and can improve the air quality as well. To encourage the use of electric current vehicle, the Government can arrange for seminars as well as it can take the initiative to publish creative advertisements which will give an overview of how the environment will look in the future if all vehicles are replaced by electric energy scooters or cars. Additionally, to attract people to use public transportation, the state can decrease the bus price. For example, a recent report published in India showed that the number of passengers who used buses on a specific day when the price was reduced to half is considerably higher than on regular days. To conclude, many humans continue to use their vehicles which cause damage to the earth. There are several reasons for the continuous usage while it can still be under control if over usage is avoided and used only if it is really necessary.