Many student choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In numerous countries, youngsters are taught that everything will be achievable if they put their heart and soul into what they are pursuing. However, this guidance possesses both its own upsides and downsides to children's development, which will be further explained in this essay. On one hand, this instruction undoubtedly educates children on a crucial factor contributing to success - patience. In daily life, from time to time you cannot go through an unavoidable challenge for the first time and have to tackle it a lot due to the fact that nothing is plain sailing. Though failure can cause you in low spirits, you will certainly gain invaluable experience from your mistakes to prepare for the next try. For instance, Thomas Edison, one of the most reputable scientists in the world, had failed more than 1000 times until he invented the first electric light bulb with flying colours. On the other hand, despite the perks which this mindset brings about, there are still a few potential drawbacks. In some cases, this perspective will reduce creativity in human life. For instance, human beings had to cycle for far distances from time to time and felt exhausted after that. So what if they just accepted that is a fact of life and only tried to cycle faster? So how a car is invented? That distance implies what we want to achieve, we may reach the place we want when we keep cycling and speed up. But, if we have a bit counter thinking, we will come up with another solution which is more efficient and satisfactory for our needs, so that we come up with a car. With such stubbornness, never will we think out of the box to improve ourselves and human living expectancy. In conclusion, we all can agree that this message has its pros and cons. A child is able to either achieve every accomplishment when they are industrious or all the effort comes to nothing with a narrow mind. To get the message in the most beneficial way, we should not only work hard but also work smart.