In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country., while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and giye your opinion.

It is commonly observed that a few people receive outrageous earnings in some countries. This subject is a contention between people. A group opines it is good for the nation whilst others suggest the law-making bodies should put a cap on the amount people can earn. This essay seeks to look at both opinions. I will give my opinion in the course of the essay. To begin with, there are various careers in the world. The qualifications and skills required to work in each field differ. Some jobs are more involved than others. For instance, medical doctors spend six years of their lives at tertiary institutions whilst bankers only spend four years. The graduate in each of these areas acquires a bachelor's certificate in their main programs of study after University tuition. Furthermore, in the field of work, medical doctors have periods of running 24-hour shifts at work,, meanwhile bankers only work for 8 hours each day. In comparing these two careers, it is obvious the work of a health practitioner is more involved than that of an accountant and it is only logical for doctors to be paid higher salaries than their colleagues who work at the bank. Besides this, most countries allow students to freely choose programs that will suit their future careers. Most of them do so after doing some basic research about the earnings of most jobs and tailoring their decision to suit their passion and academic capabilities. In view of this, I can understand why some people earn more than others and I agree it should be so in these circumstances. However, in some nations, athletes and politicians earn outrageous income at the expense of many poverty-stricken citizens in these same countries. To illustrate this, Ghanaian politicians receive huge monetary allowances in amounts that equal a medical doctor's monthly salary for making appearances at meetings including parliament sittings for a maximum of an hour. Meanwhile, each politician is served government-sponsored breakfast and lunch on each day of the week, makes free flight travel to every place of their choice regardless of it being for a national program or personal program. In addition to these, they receive bulky salaries on a monthly basis, an amount so high enough to feed the whole nation folks for a year. It is clear that, such persons occupy leadership roles to amass public funds at the expense of the nation. In my opinion, such people are not deserving of what they are receiving as they aren't doing much. So in effect, I agree the national authorities put a cap on how much an individual can earn in society. To sum up, some people work harder than others and deserve to earn more comparatively. However, I do not agree with people receiving outrageous salaries by virtue of their position even though they actually do very little.