More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

The number of car owners in developing countries is increasing. The principal problems this causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and the most viable solution is to improve public transportation. The primary issue developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is increased pollution. This occurs as a result of petrol consumption, which produces hazardous gases, by cars and this pollutes the air which people breathe. The greater number of vehicles on the road is also responsible for a rise in traffic jams. This is because many tend to commute by car and that increases the number of cars specified for the road which results in bottleneck. For example, in the US, exports say traffic increased by 70% in cities within a decade. A solution to these problems is to make better public transportation, so, people start to switch to electrobuses and trains to commute to their work. This would solve the problems by reducing the number of cars on the streets and harmful gases in the air. For example, if people spend less time going to work by bus or train compared to cars, they will be less likely to use their car since the car would cost them precious time as well as extra money for fuel. Therefore, there would be not many cars on the roads, so, less traffic. In conclusion, the increasing number of vehicles would cause pollution and traffic jams and the solution to this would be improving public commuting transport which indirectly forces people to use their cars less.