Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In the past years, emerging technology has changed human-kind lives in various aspects. Some believe that it has brought society closer to each other by fostering global village and virtual communication, however, a plethora of people argue that it has made individuals more apart since they do not spend enough time communicating physically. I side with the second group and this essay intends to compare both viewpoints. Nowadays, the world is like a small village since almost every human being has access to the internet and contemporary gadgets, therefore, it has become easier to communicate with others despite the long distances. For example, immigrants can talk with their families every day, however, they live on another continent. On the contrary, those gadgets provide the public with other facilities, such as games and social platforms. A myriad of youngsters spend the vast majority of their time playing online games or surfing the internet; as a result, it can be seen that family members do not sit together to talk and improve their relationships, which can possibly result in an increasing divorce rate. For instance, a recent study in a court in Iran showed that spending a significant time on mobile phones and not caring about each other was one of the critical issues among divorced couples. In conclusion, although modern technology has imposed virtual relationships in individuals' lives, it has loosened the bond between family members which greatly outweighs its benefits. I believe that people should be more aware of their daily usage of technology and fix companionship specifically within their families; furthermore, balancing technology usage with face-to-face communication is essential for fostering healthier relationships and more fulfilling lives.