Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As most people know, living abroad is not plain sailing. Challenges such as limited or lack of fluency in certain languages or cultures are common problems for people who are living overseas. Herein, this essay will discuss to the extent I agree with this statement. To commence with, with the advancement of technologies and transportation, people are moving around to seek new opportunities as well as connections. Statistically, the world has more than 190 countries with different tongue languages and cultures. Underlining the importance of communication which begins with fluency in certain languages, newcomers have to learn and adapt themselves into their targeted regions. To give an illustration, if you are an Indonesian student and plan to go to the United Kingdom for a master’s study, you need to take an English proficiency assessment, because, in the United Kingdom, their native words are English not Indonesian. Aside from the mother tongue, you also need to learn about their practical behaviour. For example, it is common for Indonesians to use their hands while eating, meanwhile, it is not common for the British to use their hands, instead, they use utensils when they are eating. Such manners are alarmingly important for immigrant to learn, not only to adapt themselves but also to respect their practices. These daysTo learn new cultures or languages many foreign institutions have provided us with various forms of lessons. With the value of technology, transferring knowledge through online platforms has eased us foreigners to take pieces of information about foreign lands. Not only that, governments have cooperated to transfer their best teachers to other citizens aiming at advancing mastery of native languages and ways. To conclude, I firmly believe that staying in a foreign country means we have to face difficulties such as a lack of proficiency in native languages or cultures, however, these obstacles have been solved by the increase of sharing bits of knowledge through online or offline platforms. We can easily access social media to master our native languages and connect with foreign citizens to take part in their practices.