You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

One of the hottest, if not the most important, debates of today's world is the environmental issue. The major source of greenhouse gases is fossil fuel vehicles, so it is believed that raising the energy price for such cars is the finest way to tackle the problem. Although seems counter-intuitive, such an increase in fuel price is not helpful. Initially, because EVs (Electric Vehicles) have environmentally hidden costs, and also this increase puts a great burden on the poorer classes. Frankly, electric cars have far less "Carbon Footprint" compared to their petrol counterparts, but they are not environmentally clean. These vehicles are run by electric motors and the energy is stored in batteries made of rare chemical elements. Nickel and Cadmium are among such elements that are super hard to get and the process of harvesting them involves high-emission machinery. Poor African countries with child labor and uncontrolled mining processes are often neglected, simply because they are out of Western citizens' sight. This hidden environmental cost of EVs makes them less desirable compared to the first impression when they were provided to the market. Furthermore, the increase in the price of petrol causes serious damage to the financial stability of a large group of people. Electric cars are still expensive to buy for many households in Western countries, let alone in other underdeveloped parts of the world. As an example, Tesla cars, the most prominent EVs in the world, are still not affordable for poorer families. In this regard, it is best to focus on making petrol cars more affordable and less polluting to keep an equilibrium between the micro-economy of families and environmental issues. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the notion that increasing the fossil fuel price for cars is the ultimate solution to environmental issues. Simply because the alternative technology is not totally clean, and also the rise in the price has detrimental economical impact on poorer classes.