Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people consider that learning by memory is of paramount importance to be successful in academic environments. However, I completely disagree with this statement. Despite people can have a huge quantity of information memorized, it does not mean they will be able to use it correctly when it is necessary. There are other processes and skills, including analysis and interpretation that are required to get activities done well. For instance, in a mathematical problem, students do not only have to know a specific formula, but also understand the context and infer what they are being asked to do, and how to use the information correctly too. Therefore, having those other abilities, people are allowed to make better decisions, be more proactive, and use the resources available in an efficient way. Moreover, success in education is not solely determined by the amount of information students can retain but also by the skills that enable them to interact and connect easily with classmates, peers, and professors. Soft skills such as being able to communicate clearly, the ability to listen in an assertive way, the capacity to work well with others, and being able to manage their time effectively are essential to reach any academic objective. As communication and listening enable students to explain themselves, working in groups and managing time help them to delegate and prioritize tasks. In conclusion, some believe that memorizing facts is the primary path to academic success. Nevertheless, there are other skills related to the use and interpret well the information learned, and how to connect with people that allow students to get more meaningful learning for both academic and personal life and even advance more in the educational process.