Task 2 Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The utilization of the open areas for planting or building more housing has become a debatable issue. In my opinion, I agree that gardens play a vital role in human development. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain my point of view and give supporting reasons. Nowadays, the world has had to deal with a huge problem of housing deficiency due to the increasing migration of people from rural areas to urban areas, forming densely populated cities. This means, the cost of a house has grown significantly and this is the major reason people can't afford a house, an apartment, or even rent a house. For example, according to the statistics of Ha Noi National University, in 2021, the price of a house rose three times compared to that in 2012 as a result of mass migration from the countryside to the city in search of jobs at that time. In addition, housing shortages may force people to live in poor conditions ranging from unsanitary conditions to the growing rate of crime. Admittedly, trees play an essential role in the air and environment. For instance, they bring fresh air, lower temperature, and reduce global warming. However, due to the unrest that the housing deficit may cause, governments should implement policies for most land to be used for housing and an appropriate amount of land for trees. To summarize, housing scarcity is a critical problem that may cause an insecure living environment for individuals. Therefore, it should be addressed immediately. (249 words)