Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There has been an increasing number of repeated crimes after finishing one’s sentence. This essay will talk about the reasons why these unfavourable events occur and suggest some measures for solving those issues. Firstly, it is obvious that offenders are not given appropriate educational programs to prevent committing crimes again. To illustrate this, the purpose of the rehabilitation program should be for all criminals to live independently in society. This should include fundamental soft skills, such as teamwork, leadership skills and the development of emotional feelings toward others. Those experiences are significant and valuable for human interaction in a community for instance working with others and having relationships with neighbours in a bid to focus on living in the right direction. In addition, human beings are not strong when individuals face difficulties, therefore, prisoners should be trained on how to deal with those negative situations to avoid committing crimes again. Moreover, offenders need to be rehabilitated individually rather than as a group. It is common for criminals to plot misdeeds with inmates in prison. This means that unfortunately, offenders do not reflect on their misconduct and providing training programs in prison is not beneficial at all. One of the prime solutions to this issue is that offenders should be supervised and monitored individually after release from prison. If offenders go back to society without any financial support financially and mentally, they definitely will be in trouble with those aspects. In reality, it is difficult to find jobs as a previous offender, hence government should take into account job opportunities as well as social benefits for them to start living their life easily without attempting any adverse events. Furthermore, offenders need counselling or group therapy to understand an individual’s thoughts or feelings to find and solve problems promptly. As a result, offenders would not be left behind in society and they can ask for help from various directions in order to protect against further crimes. In conclusion, it is not surprising that offenders repeat committing crimes as there are several reasons for this issue. However, if offenders are given well-organised prevention programs with worthwhile skills for their lives, they will find a new interest and concentrate on their new careers. In addition to this, it is important that the government should take some means of continuous support systems to offenders financially and emotionally to develop their self-esteem to discourage being offenders.