It is often claimed that electronic devices will soon replace paper books. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that books made of paper will be replaced by electronic gadgets in the days to come. This essay agrees with this phenomenon for two reasons. Firstly, paper books are more expensive than e- books; secondly, it is friendly to nature. E- books are the cheaper options for the students because production of digital books doesnt involves sourcing raw materials for printing purposes. The reason is, that printing is an expensive process; however electronic books do not go through this system. Secondly, the production and delivery chain of papers involves a number of costly stages which makes them quite expensive and students often look for cheaper options. In the digital marketplace, for instance, a hardcover book costs four times more than that of a PDF version of the same book. This shows that an average reader will always prefer buying e- books. On the other side, e- books are environmentally friendly as it does not need any trees as raw materials for papers. In addition, it can be delivered electronically without involving physical delivery resulting in less carbon emissions. Therefore, due to the increasing environmental concerns, people often prefer electronic books. A recent research conducted by Oxford University concludes that the paper industry is responsible for more than 50% of deforestation. If papers can be replaced, it will bring revolution in climate change initiatives by the governments. This proves that in the future governments will also promote digital books. To conclude, digital books are the future of the publication industry due to their low price and growing environmental concerns and this essay completely agree with this hypothesis.