Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's globalizing world, with the development of technology such as computers and mobile phones, which help young people to communicate more easily, others believe that it has a negative impact on young people's reading and writing skills. From my personal perspective, I am convinced by the latter ideal, and this essay shall elaborate on the rationale. On the one hand, computers and mobile phones helps young people to connect with other people faster and more convenient. Cutting-edge technology enables young people to keep in touch with their parents and relatives living far away, and it helps young people not feel lonely and depressed. For example, when students apply to study overseas, the communication between them and their relatives plays an important role in students' mental health development. Another point of this case is that, with the help of technology, young people can learn more news from a large number of useful information on the Internet, which is shared by others from different parts of the world. This is because young people can connect with other people around the globe, which can boost their language skills and help young people become more self-reliant. On the other hand, young people rely too much on shorthand language and emoticons used in text messages and social media, which have a negative effect on their coherence and grammar in writing. Shorthand language and emoticons may be unacceptable in formal essays, such as email, business communication, and assignments, that teenagers have to know before they apply for a job or for a university. Young people are accustomed to incorrect grammar, spelling, and punctuation, which carry over into their other formal context. For example, instead of writing a full sentence, young people may use acronyms and abbreviations such as 'LOL' (Laugh out loud) or 'BTW' (By the way) as a way to text faster. The acronyms and abbreviations can be used in casual text or social media posts, but it is inappropriate in a formal email or academic article. In addition, teenagers are more likely to read fewer books and articles, and this is because they are familiar with short text and means of immediate communication via smart devices. A reason for this idea is that, in this technology world, the era of instant gratification, any piece of information is always readily available at their fingertips. As a result, Young people may have less patience for longer, more in-depth forms of communication, such as reading books or newspapers. As a case in this point, teenagers have more recommendations for short information rather than read a full-length novel, which is easy to consume. These pieces of information could be read and shared in a second without the investment of their time or effort to read insight. In conclusion, the disadvantages of the increasing use of smart devices for communication on young people's reading and writing skills seem to outweigh their merits. Young people should set a limit on their time the use of computers and mobile phones for communication for other activities such as reading books and communicating with people in real life.