Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

While it is contended that any type of experiments done on animals should be banned because they are not good for them, others argue that investigations conducted using animals can lead to crucial developments in the field of science. In my opinion, animal beings can be used for research purposes for the betterment of our lives and this essay will give reasons for this, alongside presenting another viable alternative. Animals, like us humans, have receptors, which take external input and respond by causing pain in the body. Based on this, some may argue that using animals for research is totally unacceptable as much of the testing done on them involves incisions and the introduction of potentially dangerous elements in the bodies. Unfortunately these tests at times result in the death of the test subjects. Nevertheless, one needs to understand that there are a multitude of benefits for humans if these tests are conducted. For instance, COVID vaccines before being approved for trials on the general public, underwent several tests using rodents as subjects. This allowed scientists to observe and analyze if these vaccines could impart any adverse effects on humans. Having said that, it is also important to explore other options that will eliminate the need for testing animals because sacrificing animals for science still raises a moral dilemma. One such alternative can be the use of microorganisms to conduct medical investigations. Although these tiny creatures do not have similar structures to ours, the results of their tests can be extrapolated or enhanced using complex scientific models to predict the effects of potential medicines on our bodies. In fact, these types of studies are already in place, and in a recent interview, one professor from the University of Texas at Austin remarked that it is possible that microorganisms will supersede animals as test species in scientific tests. To conclude, animal testing, especially for the purpose of developing medical science is tenable because it is more often than not beneficial for human beings. However, if other suitable alternatives work out it is possible to stop animal sacrifices for scientific purposes.