Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by some people that there should be a single disciplinary action against all sorts of offences, while others view that the situation of the crime, should be considered before imposing a strict action. I completely agree with the view of understanding the need of the hour before committing a crime because some actions are done unintentionally and people will take punishment seriously. Many advocates believe that implementing a fixed action against an offence would reduce the chance of unethical behavior. The citizens would be aware of the penalty and therefore would try to avoid doing such a task that would cause them some trouble. Additionally, this would lead to equality among people as all the criminals would be treated the same way. A recent statistic published by the Italian government showed that the exploitation of females was reduced by implementing the new heavier law of conduct. However, I do not agree with this as sometimes the intentions of the person are something else yet they end up committing a mistake. Many would argue that things happen all of a sudden. Though pupils want to do something else they end up doing a blunder. If the judicial passes a decision, without knowing the whole story there are chances that the innocent may be granted prison for a prolonged period than the time he deserves. The fact that a case happened in 2022 when an international student was killed by a car person while crossing the road on the wrong side and that too early morning at a place where there was no streetlight. Even though the student died the punishment was made after considering all the facts. Therefore, I do think that motivation for committing a crime should be considered before passing the judgement To conclude, undoubtedly, penalizing the crime committers, helps them learn from their mistakes yet forcing a single rule for lawbreakers helps natives to ensure that they are safe and the culprit would be penalized. However, I believe that if circumstances are considered before imposing a decision, maybe small crime holders would not get punishment for that long.