77.As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is argued that an increasing number of people are purchasing their own cars. This essay would argue that despite it being easier to travel around, it causes huge damage to the environment, which means that the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. The main advantage of buying a private car is that it is easier for individuals to travel around. This is because public transport may take a longer time and many changes in transport may be needed to get to the destination, so by car is quicker and easier. Also, there are many cars that are cheap, which is affordable by almost everyone, and sometimes using cars can be cheaper than using other means of transport. For example, in some European countries, people prefer to use the car because they do not often go to far places, and using one or two times public transport is more expensive than using a car. However, new public transport routes are being created, so people can get to more places, so this is not a significant benefit. The disadvantage is that the increasing number of vehicles on roads is increasing contamination. This is because there are more cars emitting gas, and need more fuel, and this causes air pollution, reducing the fresh air, as a consequence, new diseases related to the respiratory system are found, and this causes life danger to all humans. Recent research concluded that in the last decades, there has been an increase in cases of asthma and other respiratory-related diseases caused by the increase in air pollution. Therefore, I would argue that the drawbacks of the increasing number of private cars are more significant than the benefits. In conclusion, although cars may simplify routes, this development damages the planet, for these reasons, the negatives far outnumber the positives.