Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Funding on railways, or roads by governments is argued by people nowadays. Many may say, and I agree, is that only when governments spend their budget on railways, can traffic, and emissions of pollution which are made by vehicles on roads decrease. However, not only does it requires a huge amount of money, but also it might not be accessible for everyone, because of its cost, or its distance. The main reason for some people's disagreement with this probably is their disability to use railways. For example, people who live in villages may not be able to use trams, trains, and other railway vehicles, because it is far. On the other hand, villagers may not earn enough money to spend on using them, so they prefer to use their animals or tractors instead. Besides, weak governments like Iran cannot afford the cost, so they are not able to upgrade their railways anyway. However, we cannot deny how many merits using railways have. For instance, many vehicles are being used by single-seaters on roads. Encouraging people to use railways can decrease air pollution as they will not use their cars or bikes anymore. To achieve that, Some countries offer people to use railway vehicles, so they can use second time for free. Moreover, this can avoid traffic which is another aspect of pollution. That is how people can be on time, and they can even rest on their way in railway vehicles. In conclusion, not until we expand and develop railways, can we achieve these goals. All of these can help us have a healthy environment.