Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present, a higher percentage of of array of masses with illnesses tend to go for different substitutes of medications and therapies without consulting their familiar doctors, however, I believe this can cause many negativities such as long-term and instant fatal health complications. Hence, I will examine the drawbacks of this trend in this essay. The most negative impact of using medicines and therapies instead of a doctor's recommendation is, it can result in various dangerous issues in the long run. Since, a doctor is well qualified to diagnose diseases with the symptoms, they can identify some hidden causes and thus treat them. Take a patient having a really painful headache who tries to use non-conventional painkillers, but his real condition is a final stage cancer, as an example. If so, his tumor might spread throughout the body hence causing his death. Using medications in spite of consultation with a professional can therefore become an unrecoverable issue after a long period of time. Moreover, another serious drawback of getting substitutes for health issues is the possibility of having bad reactions right away, thus, can become deathly. Doctors only prescribe medicines after acknowledging their medical history such as allergies. For instance, if a person who is allergic to antibiotic amoxicillin gets it without going to a doctor, he will die within minutes. Having said that, only well-trained professionals can give the best option of medication or treatment. In conclusion, trying other ways of therapies and medicines for illnesses instead of a known doctor's consultation can cause huge health complications with the continuation of hidden problems and also death causing allergic reactions because lack of proper knowledge. In my point of view, therefore, this has a lot of negativities in both the long and short term.