Education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many nations that put the young generation’s education a priority, but there are some individuals who think teaching illiterate adults how to understand a word or even write the words should be more important. I partially agree with the statement, and I will elaborate on my view in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, youth are the future of a country. The progress of a nation depends on the education of the young generation. In other words, young people play an important role in the country's development. Liang-ChiChoa a leader of a reform movement once said that a strong youth makes a country strong. For instance, a demonstration called the Tiananmen Square movement was held by students fighting for democracy. As a result, we can see how vital the young education is. On the other hand, reducing the number of illiteracy shouldn’t be overlooked, because the illiteracy rate will influence the employment rate. If many people in a country don’t have a job, the authorities need to provide a lot of unemployment benefits, which will cause a country ’s financial burden. Moreover, the unemployment rate and the crime rate are positively correlated. A thesis shows every 1% increase in unemployment, the number of prisoners rises by 4%.Two years ago, there was news about a father who had to rob a family to feed his own family, hence the relationship between the unemployment rate and the crime rate should be considered. In conclusion, while the effort invested in promoting the illiterate rate seems more immediate, education for the youth brings hope to society. Therefore, striking a balance between the education for adults and youth.