In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advent of digitalization has revolutionised the way people gain information to be informed through the internet instead, resulting in less popularity of physical books and newspapers. From my perspective, if things continue like this, physical media may gradually lose their popularity in the near future. First and foremost, one of the primary factors of the change in the population's behaviours is that online reading is far more convenient and approachable. With only a smartphone that can connect to the internet, people are able to search for knowledge in many fields regardless of where they are. Google can clearly exemplify this advantage since nowadays from high school students to managers of the company, all of them must use Google whether for educational or entertaining purposes at least once a day. Besides, many useful articles online can be read for free, while in the past people were forced to purchase books in order to access that precious knowledge. Conversely, printed books inherit cultural and sentimental value. Unlike reading online books, the sensibility of touching papers and flipping pages provides the readers with possession. Moreover, the only method older generations that are not accustomed to technology can rely on to be informed is publications such as books, magazines, and newspapers. Hence, at least today, digital publishing cannot totally substitute traditional press. To conclude, despite the emotional connection between individuals and the traditional form of media, the advantages caused by the emergence of digital media have transformed the way humans consume information. Therefore, I am convinced that eventually physical publications might be replaced some days.