During the last century, the phenomenal popularity of cars has meant that the world’s environment is now at risk. Some scientists, for example, claim that motor vehicles have been responsible for the temperature of the world rising by several degrees during the last few decades. What motivate people to buy cars and what can we do to stop people from buying them?

The car has been one of the favourite means of transportation for commuting people from place to place during the last century. Some experts argue that the effects of using the car have caused the world temperature to rise by several degrees in recent years. Therefore, this essay outlines the reasons why people still choose to buy cars and provides possible solutions to stop people from purchasing them. To begin, the most obvious motivation people choose to purchase cars is their convenience. To be specific, cars are far more convenient than public transport when travelling outside the city. For instance, to travel to some remote areas, driving a car would be faster than a train and it is also straightforward to access some local areas if drivers want to make a stop. In addition, a car also makes it easier for parents to travel with young children. This is because cars remove the worry and hassle of walking with children to public transport or changing between different modes of transport. Nonetheless, although buying a car ensures people ’s convenience, the effects of global warming or climate changes due to car usage are foreseen. Thus, to encourage people to stop purchasing a car, expanding more reliable public transport would be plausible. This means that the destination is far more accessible. For example, the train and bus network system in Japan is well expanded throughout the city and the countryside. Furthermore, existing transport systems could be made cheaper, more frequent, and more accessible. With these improvements, people would be more inclined to use public transport, rather than own a car. In conclusion, it is true that cars are popular because of their convenience. At the same time, in order to reduce the amount of cars that may damage the environment, the government must pay attention to developing more reliable public transport so that citizens can be encouraged to use alternative transport that is less damage to the environment.