Children often complain that history lessons are boring because they are about a past that is dead. How can schools bring history alive for pupils?

Children usually disengage from learning about history as it is irrelevant to something in present. In this essay, I will propose some methods that will attract students to participate in history class. Firstly, one practical solution is by applying a fun teaching approach to students. As a teacher, one of the traits that needs to be owned is to be flexible and able to recognize what the classroom needs. If students disengage with the materials, such as in historical lessons, then teachers should implement another approach. If usually, the class only use a one-way teaching method where the teacher explains most of the materials and students can only listen and have minimal space to be included now it is time to try a democratic approach, where discussion is led by students in form of circle-seating style with the teacher standing in the middle. In this way, teachers can also ensure that every student is involved and eventually makes the learning process more interactive. Secondly, creative teaching aids are also necessary to appeal to students. Aside from improving the teaching styles, teacher’s supporting tools is also should be considered, especially when it comes to teaching a subject with many theories. For example, utilizing Quizzes, an online quiz application with unique digital graphics and interesting features such as rank and points, and preparing some useful mini presents will attract pupils. In this way, students are likely to push themselves to understand the materials in order to get the highest score during the quiz time since the leaderboard will be shown at the end of the session. To summarize, to make historical subject sounds cooler, teachers have to know the best method to make students feel attracted. It can be through a unique teaching approach like circle-seating, as well as utilizing interactive teaching tools. Hopefully, students now can have a mindset that learning history is not as boring as it used to be.