The gap between the rich and the poor is increasingly wide, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What are the solutions to address those problems?

The gap between the rich and the poor is growing wider in many regions of the world. While the problems that result are complex, fundamental solutions based on enhancing educational infrastructure should be adopted to tackle this problem. Increasing levels of poverty and rising wealth inequalities impact a country’s economic growth and citizens’ security. Economically, a substantial portion of the workforce, struggling with the specter of joblessness or ensnared in low-wage jobs, directly affects domestic businesses, such as local shops and factories. Nobody has money to buy their products, so they are forced to close, creating further unemployment. In terms of public security, without the means of obtaining money through work, the poor may turn to crimes such as drug trafficking, prostitution, robbery, and violent attacks on others. Youth unemployment has been linked to rising crime rates. Therefore, governments must expand educational opportunities to benefit all citizens and reduce the gap between the rich and the poor. Fostering a better standard of schooling in slums of cities and poor rural regions would enable children to reach higher educational attainment. Grants and scholarships could be used to help students to remain in education for longer and gain qualifications. Technical education could be expanded, helping poorer young individuals to learn trades. In construction, engineering, and agriculture, a highly- educated workforce will be needed in the future, and skilled workers will be able to command high salaries and enjoy a decent standard of living. As work opportunities improve, crime rates will fall. In conclusion, tackling this issue at its very foundation through the development of comprehensive educational systems is pivotal for reducing the wealth gap and ensuring sustainable and inclusive growth.