Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some schools, there is a compulsory curriculum that high school students are required to engage in community services without getting paid. Under the circumstances, there has been contention over whether they should be mandatory. In my opinion, it is vitally important for students to connect to local communities, as not only will it enhance a sense of belonging, but it will also result in fostering students communication skills. To begin, participating in community service experiences will strengthen a sense of belonging to local communities. Most students have a tendency to confine themselves to school settings and merely prepare for academic exams. In this situation, although they could develop a strong bond with their peers, it would be difficult for them to connect with people in the vicinity of the school. Thus, this opportunity will bring significant merits such as knowing local people, businesses and services, as a result of which they could develop a sense of appreciation and belonging to the community. Another crucial aspect of this experience is with regard to communication skills. Again, if students were to spend the majority of their time at school, they would not converse with any strangers and locals. However, by pushing themselves to step out of their comfort zone, which is their high school environment in this scenario, they would be able to gain more confidence in communication. The more confidence they have, they will be more likely to have higher communicative skills in the long run. In conclusion, while some may argue that high school students ’ main focus should be on academic study, I strongly believe that community experience will provide students with something that they cannot gain such as a strong bond with the community as well as establishing a foundation of communication skills.