People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It has been suggested that these days, we tend to prioritize the accumulation of possessions over the development of relationships with those closest to us. While there is some truth in the assertion that the world has become more materialistic, it is not necessarily true that this is at the cost of our loved ones. To begin with, given the growing amount of individual debt around the world, there is no better time to learn about the negative effects of personal debt than at school. Students would be less likely to borrow what they could not afford and more likely to stay in credit when they reach adulthood. Next, I believe that teaching teenagers how to manage their money within the school curriculum would be vital in allowing them to become financially independent, even before the age of 18. They would feel more confident in being able to control their daily or monthly expenditure and less reliant entirely on their parents for support or 'top-up' money. On the other hand, some would argue that teenagers are often too immature to become truly financially responsible, and so the classes would be a waste of teaching time. Others point out that teaching the concept of financial responsibility as a new subject would unfairly favor those students who are good at math, and even that it would be just another way for them to get the best grades. Despite this, in my experience, neither of these last two points is particularly valid. Most teenagers are keen to become financially independent as soon as they possibly can, while even the best mathematicians can experience difficulties with money at some point. In conclusion, financial responsibility should absolutely be taught as a genuine subject at school. Certainly, there are concerns over some students’ level of maturity or mathematical ability, but young people should not be denied the chance to become financially independent. It would help to ensure that current levels of debt are managed better in the future.