In social situations, some people believe that it is better to be a good listener than a good talker. Do you agree or disagree?

Communication is a key aspect between people, especially so in a social setting. A handful of people carry the opinion that it is vital to be a person who listens well as compared to someone who speaks well. In this essay, I will delve into both sides of the coin before presenting the reason why I think that it is crucial to strike a balance and be the best of both worlds. To begin, a good listener is someone who takes in the information attentively while the other party is talking. They also give the speaker the opportunity to talk without any interuption interruptions. This not only allows the person presenting the information to speak with no pressure but also make them feel heard. Adding on, a person who listens well always provides a response relative to what they have heard which goes to show they are indeed listening and not just nodding their heads in agreement, making them a great company to be with A great example would be allowing a friend who has had a bad day to express his grievances without any judgement. Next, on the other side of the coin, there are the good talkers. They are able to converse fluently with any given topic with anyone who's willing to lend them a ear. These people are usually, if not, always, the catalyst of the social event and the people pleaser. A good talker is essential for breaking the ice at any event and is the one with the most connections. For instance, my close friend, Justin is someone whom is very well connected due to the fact that he is always the one who initiated conversations. This has opened doors for him to go from job to job with ease due to his wide social circle. In conclusion, I agree to a certain extent that being a great listening ear is vital but I felt that being a great speaker is also crucial in a social convention as well, due to the limitless possibility of expanding horizons.