obesity has become an issue in some Western countries, especially among children. What are the reasons behind, and what effects does it have on individuals' life

Over the last decades, Western populations have seen an increase in the number of children who suffer from obesity and as well as, overweight. This essay will discuss some reasons why this occurred and shed light on the consequences of this adverse tendency. The critical cause of this issue is a poor diet. In the last ten years, there has been a dramatic ascent in the number of fast food, additionally its restaurants. For instance, in the USA approximately every street has McDonald’s, KFC, and numerous such places. The junk food in these places is not healthy and it contains a lot of food pollutants, and hazardous chemicals and is consumed by customers, especially children. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very weighty. Firstly, there has been a significant increase in the rates of disease conditions, and health issues amongst children, especially diabetes. The majority of youngsters are suffering from serious illnesses which relate to being overweight and obese. Moreover, it can lead to feelings of embarrassment among their peers and lower self-confidence and self-esteem. Furthermore, it also brings viable discrimination in the job and business market and can be another negative impact of being obese. To sum up, the obvious conclusion to be drawn is that, it is clear that there are plenty of causes of being overweight amongst children, and a larger variety of detrimental effects. Society must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from further.