Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is agreed that the current trend of junk food overconsumption is detrimental to people ’s health. Some people feel that this issue can be tackled by raising awareness about the dangers of eating too much fast food, while others believe this approach will not yield any results. Personally, I agree with the latter point of view. One might argue that educating people about the harms of junk food can help to improve their eating habits. This is because a lot of people are indeed unaware of the harmful effects of foods like burgers and hot-dogs, which are usually high in calories and contain very little nutritional value. This is especially true for many developing nations where the science of healthy eating is almost foreign, but fast- food chains such as KFC are springing up at every corner, making unhealthy meals ever accessible. If people living in those areas were better educated in this regard, maybe they would think twice before choosing to eat junk food, hence the view that education is the key in bettering the diet of people. However, I would argue that merely educating people is a rather futile move. Most consumers of junk food actually know it’s harmful, yet this knowledge doesn’t seem to affect their diet in any meaningful way. Take popular fizzy drinks – Cola and Pepsi – as an example. Although nearly everyone knows these drinks have a high sugar content, which can lead to numerous heath-related problems such as excess weight and diabetes, they continue to be consumed by several billion people on a daily basis. The same is true for many other harmful substances, including cigarettes and alcohol – by far the most consumed products in the world whose harmful content are widely known. Therefore, education by itself would not curb the consumption of fast food. In conclusion, even though educational campaigns against junk food may create a limited impact, but it would not completely solve the problem. The vast majority of people with unhealthy diets are perfectly aware of the damaging effect which junk food has, showing how ineffective education can be.