Health services are a basic necessity for a person. Private companies have made health services quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

With the ageing population rapidly increasing throughout the world, the accessibility to and the price of high-quality health care have become a hot topic. In this respect, private companies have played an active role in offering timely treatments and simultaneously, contrary to the general preconception, without raising medical prices. It is a popular prejudice that privatizing the healthcare industry must bring out exorbitant medical expenses. Nevertheless, this opinion is groundless. Private clinics, in effect, are completely compatible with public hospitals that provide affordable medical care. To illustrate, Baltimore, a port city in Maryland, has large amounts of private hospitals, which, however, also possesses the top-rated public hospital, Johns Hopkins Hospital. Owing to the competition between them, the medical costs have not presented any significant growth. Therefore, capitalism in the healthcare industry does not necessarily mean costly services. Moreover, the healthy development of private hospitals can also relieve the burden of public hospitals by supplying patients with timely treatments. The most persuasive example of recent is the performance of private clinics during the outbreak of Covid-19. It was those private clinics spreading across North America that shouldered the responsibility of treating patients with mild symptoms. Without them, it could have been inevitable for the medical system to be overwhelmed. On this ground, I hold that the private clinics are indispensable. To summarize, with the inhibition of public hospitals, private clinics will not make medical expenses unaffordable for ordinary people. Additionally, private hospitals can act effectively as a supplement to public health care by providing timely treatment. Therefore, I personally support the development of private clinics.