The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It can be noticed that the dangers of consuming cigarettes are well-announced, yet many individuals continue to smoke. This essay will present the cause of this trend as well as suggest the augmentation of campaigns that would talk about the risks related to smoking. Some believe that stopping their smoking habit will lead to unbearable withdrawal of nicotine. Furthermore, even if the said population knows about the impact it has on the body, the withdrawal caused by nicotine addiction leads to important mood swings and terrible pain, which no one wants to deal with. For instance, a study led by Harvard University in 2021 in China, the country with the largest population of smokers, showed that 60% of the surveyed Chinese are well aware of the consequences on their bodies, yet they express the need to satisfy their nicotine cravings. An effective solution to this problem would revolve around the creation of a campaign. Moreover, creating publicities is a good way to have an impact on individuals since marketing strategies use sociological approaches in order to influence any opinion. This solution could help in having an influence on those who have a smoking addiction. For example, in 2017, the French government launched a campaign called “Look at the Kid”. The purpose was to impact couples that smoked and target the potential desire to have a child. The publicity series was successful, leading to a decrease in the quantity of French smokers by 5% in 8 months. To conclude, this problem is caused by the addictive aspect of smoking but can be resolved thanks to the use of publicity strategies.