In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary epoch, individuals prefer to visit gigantic shopping malls due to which a large number of local shops have shut down. This phenomenon has affected society positively and negatively. This essay will delve into the pros and cons of this development and will subsequently lead to a viewpoint. To begin with, the primary advantage of this scenario is that it has provided an enlarged platform to humans for choosing items for them. In past decades, people had limited choices only due to recent changes in market conditions, the same items from different brands and countries are available. Thus, it is a good sign of progression for people. On the flip side, this has adversely affected the local traders as their businesses got shut down and they became unemployed due to which the level of poverty has been exacerbated in some nations. People are not able to earn their livelihood. Moreover, after the closure of local markets, more pressure was placed on city areas due to the construction of big malls and grocery centres which has led to relentless pollution. Heaps of garbage are usually noticed at the back of the shopping centre. Thus, it is apparent that it has pernicious effects on local dealers along with the environment. Although it has positive effects as it offers lucrative deals to sellers and buyers it has enhanced the difficulties for small sellers by taking their jobs away and disturbing sustainable growth. Ultimately, I consider it a disruptive development because it has increased the pressure and responsibilities on the government. After all, it has put stress on executives not only to generate more work opportunities for the workforce but also to generate remedies to deal with the rising pollution rate. To conclude, as per the matrimonials mentioned above, it is crystal clear that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits, but its advantages should not be overlooked either.