These days, many people rely on traditional medicine. Is this a positive or negative development?

Although traditional medicine is thought by some to be a good alternative to modern one, other people visit doctors. In my opinion, I think that self-medication can bring about more problems compared to any advantages it might bring. Firstly, it is obvious that scientists spend a lot of time investigating people ’s reactions to different medications which may be thought of as a reasonable benefit. In other words, modern drugs are considered highly effective, while traditional medicine is based only on common people's knowledge. For example, there might be thousands of tests and investigations before any medication goes to pharmacies. On the other hand, there were no documented effects of traditional medicine which may lead to unexpected consequences. Secondly, nobody can deny that doctors spend several years learning and are able to diagnose a disease, whereas an average person may treat the common cold until it becomes a serious problem. For instance, any mother can think that her child’s temperature is caused by an air conditioner, meanwhile, a virus can progress. Finally, people do not have a degree to do surgeries as doctors have. That is to say, some problems may be solved only by surgery and spending time on traditional medicine may be critical. To illustrate, appendicitis may be cured only if a doctor removes it from the body and wasting time may be fatal. In conclusion, traditional medicine may cause more disadvantages than advantages for people suffering from serious illnesses as well as for people who get cold and think they can treat it themselves.