In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

Nowadays, traditional costumes have become an integral part of the culture, making a connection with the past and considered practical in many nations. Although clothes play a crucial role in preserving national identity, I’m of the opinion that there are other ways that might maximize links with the past. To begin, one of the provisions that could assist people to maintain a link with history may be the usage of national dress. In other words, it is a reflection of the nation’s history and culture because costumes are inherited from generation to generation. Apparently, it is an influential factor that has the ability to attract individuals of other nations and interest in history, which leads to popularity. For instance, there is a traditional Japanese garment called “kimono”, which is well-known for its beauty and has engaged many people worldwide since it is used in lots of festivals and special occasions, providing conservation to existence. Despite traditional costumes that are used in many places and their uniqueness, there are other ways in order to develop a national identity. Turning to effective methods which might also contribute to the conservation of heritage could be organizing large-scale national festivals with traditional dress. Certainly, organizing cultural festivals, celebrations and events that showcase traditional music, dance, and food provides opportunities for people to engage with their cultural heritage and connect with their roots. To illustrate, in Kazakhstan, there is a national celebration, called “Nauryz”, which is celebrated every year by showing off symbols of the Kazakh nation such as instruments, food, dance and clothes. By organizing such festivals people might get into history deeply and understand everything clearly about the nation. To conclude, there are various ideas for maintaining links with the past. Undoubtedly, traditional clothes are popular ways, but not only the ones.