Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In today’s society, advertising, whether from websites or mobile phones, has always been considered to be an essential part of our life. However, it is said that the techniques used in advertisements are quite immoral and unacceptable. Personally, I strongly advocate this view, and some justifications for my standpoint will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, advertisements make the task inefficient when they appear in front of people. In fact, there are numerous constant and unethical images, even with noisy music whenever the advertising is played, which discomforts people's feelings. This will not only distract people, but also disturb them when they are working, leading to low performances. Moreover, many unnecessary advertisements at the same time are time-consuming, as people will need to wait for the advertisements to disappear or have to click to view them. In addition, advertisements affect the minds of children inadequately. Incomplete cognitive development has made children unable to differentiate between right and wrong when they see inappropriate images and activities in advertisements. Therefore, it is easy to incite children to mimic that behavior. For instance, according to a survey that was conducted in 2023 in Vietnam, 4% of children had tried to use alcohol, drugs and hurt themselves when they attempted to imitate advertisements on television and smartphones. In conclusion, although advertising is a good way to introduce products, the methods that many companies are using in recent times, which are unsuitable and morally wrong, poorly influence both adults and children in different ways. From my perspective, companies should alter the formula for advertising to both attract people and suit the social.