Young people who commit serous crimes, such as a robbery or a biolent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that young people are supposed to suffer the same punishments as adults when break the law seriously. In my opinion, while children should take responsibility for their behaviours, they are not ought to be punished severely. There are several reasons why it is necessary for children to pay for their actions. First of all, it can make people's communities more safety. This is because individuals, especially young people, are inclined to commit crimes without any punishment. For example, children are highly to rob goods from supermarkets instead of buying them. If there are no regulations to constrain those bad behaviours, there will be more thieves in the community. As a result, people have to live in more dangerous surroundings. Apart from that, it helps children to establish the correct outlook on life. The reason for that is after taking responsibility for their actions, they can know that they did something wrong and have bad influences on society. So that, in the future, they can distinguish what behaviours are harmful to people's lives and not encouraged. Therefore, they may develop a better person. By contrast, I still hold the view that they do not have to be treated in such a serious way. First and foremost, it is unequal to punish children as adults. Sometimes children may break the laws without realizing it, because they are too young to know all of the regulations. This means that, they are highly likely to commit crimes unintentionally. Based on that, people should not punish them as adults who clearly know the compensation. Furthermore, some punishments which include body injuries are too heavy for young people to suffer, by experiencing them children are easy to have mental problems. For example, some serious punishments need to torture people, under that situation, young people may cause them to have mental diseases, which may destroy their whole life at an early age. To sum up, although children should compensate for their behaviours to keep society safer and have the right life direction, I think they are not supposed to be punished as older people due to their unconscious and mental health.