Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, children are less active in their leisure time than many decades ago. As a result, it is believed that many sports lessons must be mandatory in education. However, I am not convinced by the statement for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, schools must add some sports lessons to their curriculum. The first reason is that if people are unfit or suffer from some health problems, the government will have to spend a lot of money on medical care in the future. Another reason is that sports help children learn discipline, patience and collaboration which can help them become more independent. On the other hand, sports lessons should not be compulsory at school. First and foremost, when children participate in those, if they are not careful, they can suffer from serious and dangerous injuries. Secondly, to provide them with a good training environment, schools need to spend a lot of money on facilities and equipment as well as on experienced trainers. Thirdly, joining too many physical activities can make them lose focus on their studies. In addition, engaging in sports lessons takes up a significant amount of valuable study time. Last but not least, some young people are not keen on sports, because they actually hate physical activity or consider it a waste of time. In conclusion, participating in sports can bring them many physical and mental benefits, but I think sports lessons should be optional subjects so that they can feel comfortable when taking part in studying.