More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages.

The trend of individuals going for pre-made dishes over homemade food has become prevailing in recent years. Even though this trend offers some conveniences, it carries significant drawbacks that should be carefully considered. On the one hand, the pre-packaged product provides absolute time savings for busy people and families, where both parents are required to work for long hours. Therefore, the simple cooking method of pre-prepared dishes is a windfall for them which can release more time for children, instead of spending on meal preparation. Additionally, the accessibility and variety of ready-made stuff offer a wider range of choices for customers to meet their preferences and dietary needs. For example, consumers can easily enjoy different cuisines by shopping for those products in popular superstores like Costco and Walmart. On the other hand, the nutritional value of convenience food is a major concern to public health. Compared with the natural ingredients, they often add more sodium and preservatives to extend their shelf life. Thus, governments in developed countries are aware of this issue. For instance, research from the U.S.A. Agricultural Association illustrates that nutrients in the prepacked products can be destroyed during production which may affect our health. Moreover, the mass production of instant meals also creates huge environmental impacts. Besides food waste and carbon dioxide emissions, plastic is usually used for packaging which generates a burden on the ecosystem. To conclude, while ready-made meals are definitely convenient for the fast-paced world, the drawbacks to well-being and sustainability cannot be ignored. Although individuals have different lifestyles, cooking at home with fresh stuff is a better option to maintain fitness.