In some countries, more houses are needed to cope with rapidly increasing populations. Some people think that it is better to build houses in existing towns and cities, while others believe that it is better to build houses and develop new towns in rural areas. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, the populations of some nations are growing rapidly and more houses are needed to address the problem. Some people look upon urban areas as a better option to accommodate new buildings, whereas others consider the countryside to be more ideal. As far as I am concerned, I am strongly in favor of the former, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of factors may lead to why building houses in rural areas seems effective in tackling the increasing population. First of all, there are far more usable lands that can be transformed into well-planned residential areas. For example, to cope with the overcrowded population, many farmlands in rural areas were acquired by the Taiwanese government decades ago for building houses. Secondly, constructions in rural areas narrow the gap between the downtown and the countryside, thereby attracting people to live there. After all, various facilities like hospitals, schools, and mass transportation systems will be also established to meet the demands of local citizens, which means that the rural areas will gain prosperity significantly with more job opportunities created. However, in my viewpoint, building new houses in towns and cities is more reasonable. To begin with, people tend to live in cities due to the existing convenience. That is to say, people have been accustomed to reaching any place in a short time with many alternatives and changing their lifestyle will be challenging. Furthermore, building new houses in cities can save governments a great amount of money since there is no need for additional resources. Namely, once the architectures are finished, the authorities do not have to allocate any budget to infrastructure. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I prefer building houses in towns and cities because this policy is more economical for governments and more friendly to the vast majority of individuals.