In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A considerable discussion point is whether social parks and free spaces are being converted into gardens where inhabitants can plant personal products. This writer contends that the benefit of raising awareness of healthy fruit is eclipsed by the drawbacks of chemical substances requirements and difficulties in management. On the one hand, it is vital to understand that chemical factors have a harmful impact on the environment. Specifically, fertilizers or pesticides are utilized to raise the growth of plants, providing them the best state of health. However, those substances are extremely toxic to the habitat, especially soil and water. Extensive research has consistently shown that pesticides would destroy all the nutrition contained in soil, whereas fertilizers will directly pollute the underground water. Thus, the more gardens the more toxic environment needs to suffer. Furthermore, public areas are hard to control leading to several social problems. In other words, establishing more growing sites requires strict management which is difficult to maintain as everyone can attend public spaces so thieves are inevitable. Besides, high amounts of litter would appear as far as delinquencies. For example, Thailand developed this growing method in 2016, however, 56% of plants were stolen on the first night despite numerous security cameras. On the other hand, this kind of planting might increase the cognition of consuming healthy food among residents. If residents are able to grow their own fruits, they can avoid eating unhealthy ones. This may be true but quality fruits can also be found in prestige supermarkets where the growing process is strictly observed. Those supermarkets not only provide better fruits but also alleviate the effort among individuals, which can be used for other purposes. In conclusion, the disadvantages of public gardens outweighed the advantages due to chemical substances demand and difficult management. Hence, despite the benefit of growing healthy fruit, this is also provided by industry farms.