In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Since we were little, our parents told us that the work pays off. So, in order to reach any goals, children have to try hard. Somebody may question themselves: does fate always reward hardworking ones? Or should a child be told that sometimes life is not fair enough? This is a problematic situation that needs to be discussed. To begin with positive sides, majority of people agree with the statement about the hard work. Nothing can be achieved without any actions. Throughout the history, humans would always struggle with almost everything. But at the end, they would usually succeed. Another advantage is an inspiration. After being told that the work pays off, children will understand that no matter what problems are faced, no matter how difficult the conditions can get, you will always end up with a win. They would feel themselves inspired and, as it is said, nothing can stop a man if he does not want to be stopped. But the idea of trying hard contains several disadvantages. Firstly, as it was mentioned before, life is not a fair place at all. You may be the most hardworking human being to ever exist, but it does not except the chance of your failure. As a Scottish singer Al Stewart once said: “No empire rises that sooner or later will not fall”. Secondly, a child may basically give up trying to reach some goals after failing once. They would question themselves: “If I did not manage to succeed this time, why would I become a winner the next time”. This is a common situation with young ones. To summarize everything written before, the whole point of hardworking to get an achievement may be controversial. But despite having some negative aspects which would affect badly on a child’s mindset, parents should always cheer up and guide them in the right direction.