Along with their original language, many today’s students learn a second language in their primary schools. Do the advantages of this educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s educational strategies is to teach young children an additional language beside their mother one in the primary level in schools. Personally, I believe that the benefits of the policy of teaching young school children a foreign language are more significant than the drawbacks, and the following paragraphs will elaborate more on that. On the one hand, there are many benefits for students to learn a second language early in their early educational life. The first one is that children would be able to master this new language at an early age. This is because their ability to grasp a new language is at the maximum level when they are young. A second benefit to add is that children will have the opportunity to get an insight into other cultures. This is expected to encourage them to become more acceptance for the cultural differences among different nations and cultures. A final merit to present is that making children able to easily deal with technology especially when the second language is a universal one such as the English language. On the other hand, studying a second language in the primary school would also involve some demerits. The primary one is that this policy is expected to negatively affect the mother language of the children. Some young school students in Jordan, for example, have started to confuse some English vocabularies with Arabic ones. Another demerit to address is the additional study load that children should bear. To illustrate, students have study for more hours which could make them feel frustrated. However, in my opinion, I believe that these drawbacks could be easily tackled by adopting an educational methodology that can help students to differentiate between their mother language and the new one, and making studying more enjoyable instead of increasing workloads. This could be achieved by applying strategies such as learning through playing. In conclusion, although teaching young students a new language early in their life could bear some drawbacks such as being harmful on their first language and adding more studying loads on them, I believe that the benefits, which are allowing them to master this new language early, having insight into other cultures and helping them to easily deal with technology, are more significant.