Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that social media applications such as Facebook and Instagram only offer drawbacks to people in our communities. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this notion and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, there are several demerits that social media provides to individuals and one of the most significant is health. To elaborate further, there are a lot of trolls who are always bullying others on these platforms which in turn many people feel stressed and depressed, leading to mental health. Moreover, individuals tend to lie down on their beds and couches binging on these applications contributing to a lack of active activities and worsening their physical health. An apt illustration of this is my brother always spend his time playing a phone on a bed; as a result, he gains more weight and gets exhausted easily when we go out to run in the morning together. In addition, he has mentioned feeling depressed because his friends constantly bully and tease him when he posts pictures on Instagram. Additionally, another clear downside of this notion is that it makes people jump on the bandwagon. To explain in greater detail, citizens splash out on things that are not necessary for their lives in order to obtain items that others have. Furthermore, some activities on social media can cause negative effects to society such as noise pollution, air pollution, etc. To specifically demonstrate, one of my friends always buys figurines that are popular at that time and hence she cannot make ends meet in each month. Another thing is, there was a time when my friend found the flare was trendy and thus she bought it and played with other friends; besides, made a loud noise that bothered and disrupted other residents all over the village. All in all, it is undeniable that social media only brings negative effects on society. From my point of view, I agree with this idea as it not only affects both mental health and physical health badly but also makes citizens jump on the bandwagon and do some nonsensical things in their lives.