Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes, and what solutions can be offered?

Diseases that were thought to only be meant for older people are now happening for children, and obesity is a main disease for them. The causes of this phenomenon are because children are eating too many snacks and are addicted to video games, while the best solutions are public advertisement and adding a fat tax. Children are suffering from obesity because of their behaviour of eating snacks uncontrolled. This is because one small snack can contain more than half of the calories needed per day per person, eating snacks with no control could make children exceed the maximum calories needed. Another reason is playing video games too much. This is to say that playing video games on a computer would make children stay still in the same place for a long time with a small movement, which leads to no calories being burned and weight gain. For example, many obese children in RSPI, one of Jakarta's hospitals, have a habit of playing video games for more than 5 hours a day. The best solution for this case is to make a public advertisement about food ingredients. Many sweet foods like chocolate and candy are liked by most children, these foods contain lots of sugar but many parents are not aware of it, especially parents with low economy. This is because low-economy people are not used to being critical and thinking about this kind of information. Another solution is to add a fat tax on unhealthy foods. This can increase the price of the foods, which means fewer people can afford them. As a result, the fat tax would make fewer people buy and consume unhealthy foods. For instance, when the regulation of fat tax on junk foods was applied in Indonesia, the trend of children suffering from obesity cases decreased in the hospital. In conclusion, children nowadays are suffering from obesity because they are eating snacks with no control and are playing video games too much. The best solutions for this situation are to make a public advertisement and apply the fat tax on unhealthy foods.