Some people believe that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A number of people believe that minors need to start learning outlander language at elementary school rather than high school. This essay will shed some light on why the benefits of learning a different language in primary school outweigh the drawbacks. Primary school time is known to be the most important period to teach kids many things, it is really important and also playful. During this time, children are really excited about meeting friends their age, playing together, discovering anything they haven’t seen before, and trying many things as they want. Therefore it is reasonable that they can not focus on studying. Moreover, they are not mature enough to know the benefits of learning a foreign language, they might just use their mother language to communicate with others. I have a five-year-old patient who can not speak Bahasa even though he has been living in Indonesia for the rest of his life, he still can not speak Bahasa, because he is studying in an international school and his parents are also foreigners. He said he has been taught about Bahasa Indonesia at school, but he can not speak in Bahasa and he just knows about few words. A study from The University of Melbourne conducted in 2009 has claimed that offspring are like sponges that absorb information real quick knowing the fact that their brain is still barely empty. Additionally, we need to use this opportunity to build the way they see the world, how to behave, and to think in the most effective way. Moreover, childhood memories tend to stay longer than old people’s memories. Therefore the information they consume at the moment will be rooted in their mind longer. Take this for example, My neighbour’s daughter has been studying english since she was four years old. She turned ten this year, now she can easily speak to tourists in Bali with no difficulties, even though she has not learned it at school yet. To sum up, learning different language at primary school is really important for kids, in spite of the fact that in this period time of learning, they tend to be busy with their own world and friends. Furthermore, parental supervision is needed in guiding their minors for the benefits and effectiveness of this learning activity.