In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem

A plastic bottle or a scrambled paper thrown carelessly on the road, how common a sight is this? I am sure each one of us can picture these images in our heads but have we ever thought of the detrimental impact it has on our environment? Every problem has its causes and potential solutions, this essay will highlight some of these in detail. The primary reason for non-recycling is the lack of awareness of the concept and practical application of the recycling process. The degree of such unawareness increases as we go into the more remote locations of many underdeveloped and developing countries. For instance, A group of college students having cold drinks out of plastic bottles will leave these bottles on the beach or in the nearby garbage dump 9 out of 10 times. Another major hindrance in creating a culture of recycling is the lack of technology to support such initiatives in most of these countries. Any mass problem needs a solution that resonates with and educates the people for whom it is beneficial. The awareness needs to be created at the grassroots level across all age and gender demographics. One way to do this is to incentivise recycling activities for the citizens of such countries. Another big leap would be integrating technology at each step of the recycling process, this could be done by creating a common platform to connect the local people with the waste aggregators. To conclude, we can say that due to the rise in the quantum of wastage and its hazardous effects on the environment, recycling bottles and newspapers is the need of the hour and the sooner we realize this as a society the better it will be.