Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Education has surfaced as one of the basic necessities in the contemporary world in terms of economic and societal stability. Increased illiteracy rate is the root cause of several malfunctions that occur in communities, and, therefore, is an alarming issue. This essay explores the reasons behind illiteracy and its adverse effects on individuals as well as societies. First and foremost, the lack of financial input by the governments is the principal factor behind the uneducated population. In other words, in several underprivileged nations, not only doesus the exorbitant education system overwhelming for the population, but it also prohibits them from enrolling their youth in learning institutes. For example, since very often learning units are portrayed as luxuries in the Third World nations, many people simply cannot afford to send their offspring to such educational institutes. Hence, insufficient government subsidies to reform the education system are the driving force behind the surging illiteracy. As a consequence, unemployment rates can escalate rapidly due to the reduced workforce which may stem considerably from lack of education. To elaborate on this, not only does education broaden the horizon of learning, but also enlightens the youth, fostering conscientiousness and enthusiasm while seeking work opportunities. Having said that, neither are uneducated individuals aware of their pursuits nor do they know how to struggle for them. For instance, seldom do illiterate people seek job opportunities, owing to the lack of literacy. Subsequently, mass unemployment may also result in soaring crime rate. To substantiate, unemployed people, driven by their low socioeconomic status, have the tendency to indulge in committing social crimes, which disrupt the balance of societies. To cite an example, a greater proportion of petty delinquents involved in shoplifting, burglary, robbery and, vandalism are the ones who cannot afford to live a quality lifestyle. In short, when societies remain uneducated, the chances of social delinquencies rise substantially. In conclusion, knowledge is an indispensable tool that every unit deserves to gain, which advocates that the governments should expend more in the education sector by making it compulsory and affordable for everyone because otherwise illiteracy can lead to greater rates of unemployment and crime in nations.