Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of whether zoos are all harsh and need to be banned or can be helpful in conserving wild animals has been a topic of discussion. While many reasons can endorse the former opinion, I am still in a favor of the latter. On the one hand, banning zoos can be beneficial in some ways. Firstly, zoos is always hampering animal’s wildlife in cages. The first reason for my argument is that if animals are enclosed with restrictive environment for a long time, they will gradually lose their natural instincts such as hunting or preying. Secondly, animal mistreatment is sometimes reported in zoos annually, causing them mental and physical harm. For example, zoos may force animals to perform hazardous circus tricks to make visitors suspenseful, leading to them to become weaker and stressed. This may cause them to display violent performance or even attack visitors. On the other hand, I believe zoos should be maintained because of its wider range of virtues. To begin with, zoos act as wildlife refuge for animals which are on the verge of extinction. To exemplify, zoos can protect rare animals from human activities and environmental threats such as poaching, deforestation and natural disasters. Another reason is that educating students in preserving the natural habitat of wild animals in zoos is necessary and convenient. Only when zoos provide essential knowledge of education, will students acknowledge the importance of wild species such as the world’s biodiversity. In conclusion, it is understandable that why zoos should be closed down. However, I still hold a belief that zoos can contribute to the safety of wild animals.