News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Nowadays information that is broadcast on television and newspapers has the power to influence people's vision considerably. However, the decisions of which topics to be broadcast have various factors.Generally, the decisions are based on their attraction to people. As a result audience ratings will increase the profit of the media company. It has often been said that good news is bad news because good news can not be sold.The media company reporting only good news will have to close because of a lack of listeners. This is the reason why we always obtain news about bad economics,and people hurting each other so it may seem like the world is hopeless. This bias exists due to the human’s brain tendency to focus on threats because that is important to our survival. However, bad news has a negative impact on our mental health as it leads to anxiety and stress,fostering a pessimistic outlook.The other essential factor in some countries is the interference from their governments.Those countries’s governments have the power to distort society’s perception of reality and benefit from the influence of media. Although, it has been more difficult nowadays since people can receive data from other platforms, such as Facebook Twitter or Instagram. That is to say, these days we have alternative ways to approach positive stories,limiting exposure to negative news.Balancing information intake from good and bad news and analyzing this news can help us receive more accurate information and benefit our mental health. To summarize, media companies tend to provide more negative information to attract more viewership nevertheless, nowadays people have options to receive news from any source they choose so choose wisely.