You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Organized tours to remote community and other countries are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

As tours to secluded communities and remote countries are increasingly popular, there has arisen a debate about whether these tours are positive for aborigines and the local environment. From my perspective, the flourishing of tourism helps to improve their living standard, but to a certain extent is harmful to their surroundings. That the development of tourism can jeopardise the local environment has been repeatedly demonstrated by practical examples. For illustration, Jiuzhougou, an expanse of primitive forest in which lakes lie scattered, was a characteristic example of sacrificing the environment for the boost of the economy. The local government has been widening the area of scenic spots to accommodate more tourists, which has brought a large amount of plastic waste, seriously endangering the habitat of local wildlife. The situation in Jiuzhaigou is not an exception, happening in many places, especially in developing countries, as they have a stronger willingness to develop the economy at the expense of the environment. Then it seems reasonable to conclude that we should restrict this kind of tourism for the sake of the local environment. However, this opinion is obviously from outsiders who do not live in isolated islands and do not have to endure the scarcity of basic necessities. Actually, for most people struggling to live, transient environmental costs are acceptable. Research from the UN suggests that the majority of African people in poverty welcome the development of tourism, since they believe this will improve local transport systems and living standards. Over 30% of subjects welcome governments' "more radical exploitation". Seen from this aspect, tours to remote areas are positive for local people. To summarise, although tourism can do harm to the environment, many Aborigines sincerely invite the development of tourism, as it helps to increase their income level. What we can do is respect their choices and endeavour to protect the environment.