Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly known that developments in technology are not always good for us. Surely, surveillance cameras and cellphones make us feel more secure, however, all these devices controlling us without consent can provoke some sense of discomfort, almost as if someone broke into our own private space. Firstly, most of these methods of monitoring have plenty of pros. For example, footage recorded by security cameras has been helping out busting a lot of criminals lately. According to data, published by police departments, those recordings were used in court to recognise almost 90% of criminals who robbed a bank in the last 20 years! Likewise, thanks to phone-tracking features a lot of mafia groups' members were localized and arrested by local authorities. In contrast, these methods have cons, thus are always active, resulting in influencing also other citizens' lives rather than only criminals'. In fact, these tracking devices often get along with software used to advertise on social media platforms and websites. For instance, in 2016 during American presidential elections, Facebook used users' personal data and website cookies to make people vote for Trump instead of Clinton. As a result, this interfered with a state's democracy and it's really scary! In conclusion, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages at the moment. I think that computers still don't have compromised our freedom indeed. But, if this happens in the future, it will be a problem to solve immediately. This can be avoided by being more mindful of electronic device usage and by voting for people who use them for our safety and not for their own good.